A form can have two basic statuses -- Draft and Completed.
- Draft means that the form is still in progress. Perhaps you’ve started filling the form out, but have not yet finished it. Or maybe different sections of the form need to be filled out by different people, and the form is somewhere in the middle of that workflow.
- Completed means that the form is done. No additional edits are required, and the form can be stored for your records and used for data extraction.
You may see other statuses in the mobile app as well as in the Forms Tab. These are all just subcategories of the Draft status. Namely, you may see the following:
- The Shared status in the mobile app indicates that the form has been shared to a group, but nobody in the group has claimed ownership yet. We made this a separate category in the mobile app, to make it easier for users to see and claim shared forms.
- The Transferred status in the Forms Tab indicates that the form has been transferred to you from another user.
Forms will have different actions associated with them depending on their status. Most notably:
- Completed forms cannot be transferred to another user or shared via Public Share
- Depending on your user permissions, you may or may not be able to edit Completed forms; by contrast, anyone with a GoFormz account can edit a Draft form.
A form’s status can be changed in a few different ways:
- Clicking/tapping the Complete button on a form will change its status from Draft to Completed
- Tapping Reopen in the mobile app will change the form’s status from Completed to Draft
- When a form is auto-transferred to another user using Workflow Automation, it is automatically reopened (i.e. its status changes from Completed to Draft)