Account Management

Legacy: Managing User Groups and Permissions

Last Updated: Jan 26, 2018 09:59AM PST


User groups are an important tool for controlling user permissions, as well as for fostering collaboration within your organization. In this article, we go over how to create a user group, configure group permissions, assign users to the group, change group permissions, and delete a group.
 
All of these actions begin on the Users screen. To open it, click your username in the top right corner to expand the account management dropdown, then select Users & Groups from the dropdown.

Creating a user group

To create a new user group, do the following:

  1. Create the group. Click the Create Group button at the top right of the Users screen. The Create Group window pops up.

  2. Name your group. Enter a name for your group. In this example, our group is called Field Techs.

  1. Set functionality permissions. Check the boxes for the functionality permissions that you want this group to have. In this example, the group has permissions for all form tasks, but will not be able to manage templates, view reports, or access the management site.  See here for more on permissions. These permissions are not set in stone -- you can change them later by editing the group.

  2. Set template folder permissions. If you have template folders, set those permissions at the bottom of the window. In this example, the group has permissions to use templates from the Field Forms folder; it does not have permissions for the HR Forms folder, or to view other users’ forms. See here for more.

  3. Save your new group. Click the Save button to finish creating the group. You will see the new group in the list.

Moving users into and out of a group

To assign users to a group or move users out of a group, check the boxes next to the users that you want to move. In this example, we’ve selected Frank Smith and Jane Doe.


 
Then click the Move to Group button at the top, opening the Move To Group dialog box.

  • To assign the selected users to a group, choose your group from the dropdown menu and click Move.

  • To move the selected users out of a group, just click the Move out of group button.

Changing group permissions

To change the permissions of an existing group, simply click the  icon next to your group name. You will see an Edit Group window displaying your group permissions. Change the permissions as needed, and click Save to save your edits. You can also change the group name here.

Deleting a group

To delete a group, simply click the  icon next to the group, then click Yes in the confirmation dialog box. Deleting a group will not delete any of the users in the group -- it will simply move those users out of the group to the top level.
 

f96791875af3f069482b7b5788b9b70b@goformz.desk-mail.com
http://assets2.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete?b_id=13874